How Many District in Uttarakhand? Name of Districts in Uttarakhand

 How Many Districts are there in Uttarakhand?

Uttarakhand is a beautiful state located in the northern direction of India. The old name of Uttarakhand is Uttaranchal. From 2000 to 2006, the name of Uttarakhand was Uttaranchal. But in 2007 it was changed to Uttarakhand. 

The state of Uttarakhand was formed on 1 November 2000 as the 27th state of the Republic of India after many years of struggles and agitations. Uttarakhand borders Nepal in the east and Tibet in the north. 

Uttarakhand is the 18th state of India in terms of area and it is considered to be the 20th state of India in terms of population. 

How Many Districts are there in Uttarakhand? 

Talking about the district of Uttarakhand, it was a part of Uttar Pradesh, but due to several years of agitations, 13 districts of the hilly region of Uttar Pradesh were separated to form the state of Uttarakhand. Therefore, at present there are total 13 districts in Uttarakhand. 

Names of 13 Districts of Uttarakhand

So let’s know which are the 13 districts of Uttarakhand?







Udham Singh Nagar

Tehri Garhwal

Pauri Garhwal




So friends, now you must have get the Uttarakhand all districts list.  

Uttarakhand District List

Which is the Largest District of Uttarakhand?

Friends, if we talk about the largest district of Uttarakhand, Chamoli  is the largest district of Uttarakhand in terms of area. Whose area is 8030 square kilometers.

Which is the Smallest District of Uttarakhand?

Talking about the smallest district of Uttarakhand, Champawat is the smallest district of Uttarakhand in terms of area. Whose total area is 1766 sq km.

Final Words:

Friends, through this post, you have got brief information about Uttarakhand and the names of 13 districts of Uttarakhand.

I hope that after reading this post, you  must have got complete information about Uttarakhand district list. Do tell in the comments how did you like this post.   

Frequently asked questions (FAQ) related to Uttarakhand

Q-1- How many Mandals are there in the state of Uttarakhand?

Ans- There are two mandals in Uttarakhand namely Garhwal Mandal and Kumaon Mandal.


Q-2- When were both the circles established in Uttarakhand?

Ans- There are two divisions in Uttarakhand, out of which Garhwal division was formed in 1969. The same Kumaon Mandal was established in 1854 itself. 

Q-3-How many Districts come under Kumaon Division? 

Ans- There are 6 districts under Kumaon division which are as follows- Nainital, Udham Singh Nagar, Almora, Pithoragarh, Bageshwar, Champawat. 

Q-4- How many Districts come under Garhwal Division? 

Ans- There are 7 districts under Garhwal division, namely- Dehradun, Tehri Garhwal, Haridwar, Chamoli, Uttarkashi, Pauri Garhwal.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *