What is the Capital of Uttarakhand?

Know About Uttarakhand Capital

What is the capital of Uttarakhand : Uttarakhand is one of the most beautiful states of India. Which is known for its natural beauty and many Himalayan peaks. There are many tourist places to visit in Uttarakhand, where along with Indian tourists, foreign tourists also come.

Do you know about the capital of Uttarakhand? If not, then today in this article, where is the capital of Uttarakhand, and how much is the capital of Uttarakhand. We are going to tell you about all the important information related to it. Before knowing what is the capital of Uttarakhand, let us know about some important information about the state of Uttarakhand.

The old name of Uttarakhand was Uttaranchal. The state was created on 9 November 2000 from the Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. Many movements were done behind its construction, after which the state of Uttarakhand was formed. From 2000 to 2006, it was known as Uttaranchal.

But in January 2007 its name was changed to Uttarakhand. The state of Uttarakhand is bordered by Nepal in the east, Himachal Pradesh in the west, Tibet in the north and Uttar Pradesh in the south. This region was mentioned as Uttarakhand in ancient literature and Hindu texts. Uttarakhand, as the name suggests, means the northern region or part in Hindi and Sanskrit. Let us now know, what is the capital of Uttarakhand?

What is the Capital of Uttarakhand?

What is the capital of Uttarakhand?

Uttarakhand has two capitals, the winter capital is Dehradun, and the summer capital is Gairsain. Gairsain is located near Bharadisain, the summer temporary capital of Uttarakhand state.

About Dehradun, the First Capital of Uttarakhand

Dehradun is a very magnificent and beautiful city of Uttarakhand. Dehradun is known for its tourism, culture, education and natural beauty. Dehradun is very old, an inscription has been found near Kalsi, located about 56 kilometers from Dehradun, according to which Emperor Ashoka used to have authority over the Dehradun region in the third century BC. 

In 1815, the British rule defeated the Gurkhas and took possession of this place. The complete history of Dehradun is in the State Archives located on Chander Road. This institution is located in Dalanwala. This is an institution or museum, where all the important information related to Dehradun is present.

About Gairsain, the Second Capital of Uttarakhand

Gairsain is a wonderful city located in the Chamoli district of Uttarakhand, which is situated in the heart of the state. Gairsain is made up of the local language of Uttarakhand, “Gair” and “Sain”. The word Gair means deep place, and the word Sain means plain land. 

From 1803 to 1815, the entire region was ruled by the Gurkhas. After 1815, till August 14, 1947, there was British rule in the whole of India. Garhwal district was formed in 1839 during the British rule, after which Gairsain was removed from the region of Kumaon and transferred to Garhwal district. On 20 February 1960, it was made Chamoli district and came under it.

Final Words: This article was about what is the capital of Uttarakhand. In which you have been provided all the important information about Uttarakhand. If you have any question related to this article, then you can tell us by commenting. If you like this article, please share this article with your friends, thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *